Skip to content

#137: Watch the Wear

August 30, 2010

On Saturday morning two of my bests and I piled into the car with our Pearl Jam and Nirvana CDs in hand, and country livin’ on the mind.  We were headed toward the Berkshires of Massachusetts.  On our way up through rural Connecticut we stopped alongside white-water falls, farms (not without grabbing bagfuls of fresh crop apples and heirloom tomatoes, nom…), and of course found ourselves in a few antique shops.

I found this 1930′s denim apron for a few bucks.

In that beautiful deep blue lightweight denim of the day, with blue threaded selvedge along the side edges and on the fastening straps.

By Carter’s out of Lebanon, New Hampshire.

Asymmetrical stitching on the bib pocket.

Feeling high and mighty, with hope that my hoarding days are behind me, I try to only pick up things that I can wear or use everyday.  So don’t mind me when I start touting the apron around town as a dress.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. ginny branch steling permalink
    August 31, 2010 5:46 am

    1. i got me one of dem this summer and use it as my cooking apron
    2. i bought a plain, unfussy denim apron in high school and wore it one day as a layering piece. people STILL to this day bring it up as one of my most ridiculous fashion moments. STILL.

    AND people all day long kept telling me i forgot to take off my apron from art class. one of the older boys said to me, and i quote accurately and fondly,

    “this is a sad day when i see a girl wearing an apron as a fashion statement.”

    !!!!! mortifying. and i thought i looked so sassy.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      August 31, 2010 9:28 am

      So you’re saying there’s a chance the apron won’t work as a dress…. ;)

  2. August 31, 2010 6:38 am

    gosh!
    i love to drive along the countryside… but here there aren’t so many antique shops to look for this charming stuff!! grrr
    would like to go with you!

  3. August 31, 2010 9:34 am

    Great buttons! Nice vintage denim find.
    I once heard about this guy that was doing renos on an old house, took down the plaster off a wall and unearthed a whole whack of 50 yr-old jeans that were being used as insulation.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      August 31, 2010 9:40 am

      Love it. Denim as insulation, denim stuffed into crevices in old mines… never know where you’ll find the goods.

  4. September 1, 2010 1:42 am

    My great-uncle lived in Lebanon, NH! He owned a funny terrier-mutt.

  5. September 1, 2010 1:17 pm

    grunge rules, and there’s nothing wrong with a little bit of hording! ;)

  6. chris permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:09 am

    I love your blog, but Nirvana and Pearl Jam? C’mon!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      September 2, 2010 10:07 am

      um, Yield?? Have you ever taken that album out on a country drive?? C’MON!

  7. October 14, 2010 8:42 am

    great find.

Trackbacks

  1. #155: Virtues « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

