Skip to content

#142: Two for the Show

October 6, 2010

Last year I made a big ol’ deal when I found my perfect Chimayó jacket.  I felt pleasantly composed when I came across these two Chimayó purses, though.  Call it growing up.

The general history of the weavings can be  found here, in the jacket post.

This little blue baby was woven in the 1930’s and has a Thunderbird clasp, probably made from nickel.

(Pictured on an old, similarly colored Saltillo rug.)
According to Native lore, the thunderbird symbolizes happiness; the rattlesnake jaw and rain stampings symbolize strength and prosperity.
You can tell that this purse was woven in the 1930’s by the style of the zipper. The Talon ball-and-chain zipper was only used during the 1930’s– the purse otherwise looks identical, except in color and size, to its friend.
Grey, red and black number from the 1940’s.
The clasp with sun ray stamping symbolizes stability.
The Talon zip with the large “u-lock” at the base was only used in the 1940’s.

 

Each purse has a loop fastened to the back to sit on your belt.  Coolest fanny pack ever.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:14 pm

    email me about this weekend! i’ll be in beacon/rhinebeck/hudson!!!

    karen.f.brown@gmail.com

  2. October 10, 2010 6:46 pm

    There are super. The detail of the ball and chain zipper pull is really special.

  3. October 11, 2010 5:38 pm

    Thanks for this post, finally able to date my Ganscraft Chimayo as 30’s – only just noticed ‘Talon’ printed on the ball as well. Great post – as always.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      October 11, 2010 5:46 pm

      That makes me especially happy!

  4. November 18, 2010 4:48 am

    Those are awesome! I really love your blog. You and I seem to love a lot of the same things/aesthetics. I’m so glad I found this.

  5. juanita permalink
    January 23, 2011 7:46 pm

    I’m an old lady-never read a blog-stumbled across you while looking for info on a Chimayo purse. Pictures superb & info complete! So I read for an hour! I love vintage almost anything, especially native american weaving, silver & turquoise. THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! will be waiting for more!

Trackbacks

  1. #168: Faces of Chimayo, New Mexico « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

