Skip to content

#6: Steal Your Heart Away

November 5, 2008

Quickly, I wonder, what was the first album you listened to post Election Day? My rock n’ roll spirit is so juicy right now, and in the words of Mother Gluck I’m “ready to boogie”. The first record I listened to was the Stones’ Exile, my favorite feel-good record of all time.

There have been many progressive people along the way who have incited an attitude of freedom and change in others. Here is a relic from someone who I like to think was one of those people, even though I’ve never met her or seen a photo: a pair of ladies white leather motorcycle boots from the 1940’s or 50’s, worn to a bloody pulp (perfect). These have no maker’s mark, so were perhaps a custom job for a custom kinda lady with a freewheelin’ lifestyle. The shape of the dip shows so much character. I was told that they belonged to a woman who rode bikes her whole life, beginning in the 1920’s. Don’t cry for me, but budgetary constraints at the time kept me from picking up more of her sumptuous collection.
Moto Boots
A sweetiepie little accent, a heart applique on the upper. Ever the lady. I wonder if these were a special delivery from her main squeeze.
Heart
This white leather has aged so softly and gently, naturally and beautifully… reminds me of dear old Grandma (big smile).
White light

I could make up stories for hours about the woman behind these boots. By-and-by, makes me want to rev up my chopper and hit the open road…

_____
P.S. – The effortlessly stylish Miss Shayne Kao, one of my all time favorite darlings and someone who has always had impact on how I view personal style, has gone Etsy! Check out Hybrids Are Better for those perfect little things.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 6:40 pm

    The little heart is so painfully sweet! I wonder what the two slits were for?

    Let’s get together next week some night, when’s good for you?

Leave a Reply

