Skip to content

#8: Collections (of collections)

November 14, 2008

Endlessly endeavoring to re-purpose history, do take notice of my favorite all-purpose rainy day carryall:
flight bag

This here is a WWII aviator’s flight bag, once the property of Brigadier General James H. Thompson, United States Air Force (b. 1916, d. 1986).
James H. Thompson
Here is a photo of General Thompson (then a Lieutenant Colonel) in 1945 in Guam.

Bio

Today his flight bag is my farm market companion, and an authentic alternative to the ho hum green-bags on the shoulder of every environment conscious New Yorker. Pepper in some imagination with that consciousness.
farm bag

And, as it were, 60+ years of dirt and debris co-mingling with the food I eat! Makes me tough, keeps me healthy. Likely the sturdiest sack I’ve ever had my hands on, it’s perfect for carrying pounds upon pounds of comestibles.

Wearing this bag on my wrist feels like the equivalent of dragging a lumberjack boyfriend along on a shopping trip for the perfect dollhouse or pink feathered boa. This bag has seen the world, seen danger, and illustrated courage in the line of duty. Now that I have my paws on it, I hope it can learn to enjoy a cushy, girlish retirement.

And the long, rewarding journey of spending hours finding our way through a wet and illuminated Central Park.
CP
CP2

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 2:21 pm

    Hey! You’re one of those neo-Baez sisters! I put your poster up on my other blog. It was wonderfully witty, and sexy as all get out.

    Where do you get such detailed military personnel info on your army surplus items?

  2. indiansummervintage permalink*
    November 14, 2008 2:29 pm

    Happy to have a new friend in the ‘sphere!

    The biographical information on this gentleman came from the person who I got the bag from, and they got it directly from his estate. The number stamped on the bag is his personal ID number, so if all else failed one could use it to find the appropriate records. Because General Thompson was a decorated war hero, it wasn’t very difficult to find that beautiful photo of him.

    The bag brims with energy!

  3. November 14, 2008 8:03 pm

    I love that you have the back story to go with the bag.

    And I was so happy to see it in action this morning, it looked very cute while scouting both bargains and birds of prey!

Trackbacks

  1. #77: A Touch of Patriotism « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

