Skip to content

#9: Horology

November 18, 2008

I’m going through a rough-patch. And so they say time marches on, heals all wounds, will tell, waits for no one, and so on and so forth forever and ever ad infinitum/nauseam. Anyway, to help the time pass and keep these helpful sentiments in the forefront of my arsenal, I’ve procured myself a new companion:
watch

My new buddy, a World War I trench watch c.1915 – Swiss made. Runs strong. It’s a manual watch so it took some violent shaking and a few what ARE you doing looks to get it moving, but (see comment below!) and it’s running great and the pitter-patter of its little watch heart offers just a little bit of comfort right now.
watch2

watch belly
What’s more about this piece outside of its every perfect little detail is that it is an earlier example of the mens wristwatch. Prior to World War I, wristwatches were considered a ladies fashion statement – gentlemen preferred pocket watches. During the war and inter-war years, wrist watches were adopted by officers and soon the world over. As the story goes, the first wristwatch worn by a man was developed in the early 1900’s for a pilot who found the pocket watch impossible for flight. He asked his friend Louis Cartier to help him out with that.

I’ve been looking for the perfect vintage military watch for years. Goes to show that you never have to settle for the price in the boutique window – get creative and find the people who those people go to and get a nice price that won’t break the bank. Stop at nothing! Time, after all, is on our side.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 1:40 am

    i love the font of the watch numbers!

    thank you for teaching me that men only wore pocket watches!

    indiansummervintage is one of the only blogs where i learn anything special, so thank you dana!!!
    i wuv u

  2. indiansummervintage permalink*
    November 19, 2008 10:16 am

    I never claim to be an expert, just a bit obsessive. Anyway I realize I’ve gotten my semi-automatic watches and my manual winds confused, I shouldn’t have had to shake it to get it moving at all, simply wind it and let it go. Don’t be a fool like me, friends. Do not shake your manual watches.

  3. November 19, 2008 4:20 pm

    Some of us, feeling no need to get involved with such fancypants technology as the aeroplane, still only wear pocket watches. http://brooklynbachelor.blogspot.com/2008/03/zoot-alors.html

  4. November 20, 2008 6:32 pm

    Well I’m glad it’s going, one way or another.

    ALSO- I want to give you that flannel we got last week, it was meant for you, I can just tell. Next time we get together, ok?

Leave a Reply

