Skip to content

#40: I Saw Myself As You Knew Me

February 18, 2009

I’ve said to myself on a handful of occasions in this lifetime, “I’ll never do that again…” Most details which I needn’t share in this forum, an exception being spending an exorbitant amount on a tee shirt. I used to do this often and the fruits of my ‘investing’ lend themselves to a quasi-impressive collection of vintage concert tee shirts of seminal favorites from the 1970’s and early 80’s . I thought I was finished.

But when my friend in vintage alerted me (and the world, via his blog) to the prize within reach, I knew immediately (a la Wayne Campbell) “It will be mine, oh yes, it will be mine…”

Neil Young and Crazy Horse Rust Never Sleeps Tour shirt, c. 1978


It’s soft as a dream and perfectly worn through– the coveted feel and look that vintage reproduction tees, now pretty much available anywhere, are going for. Though 30 years lends a lot of character to cotton, and there’s nothing like the real thing.

Suspenders
Neil in his suspenders on the 1978 tour (from pro.corbis.com)

Neil Young’s music means so much to me in all its comforts that I’ve practically come to think of the man himself as a dear personal friend— sure, I’m a lunatic. But to reduce my love for his music into a simple sentence would be impossible. That is to say, I truly felt I needed to have this shirt. Plus, it’s a small size, or– what I like to call, in this crazy world of ours– destiny. If I’m destined to have a drawer full of really expensive old tee shirts, why fight it?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 6:18 pm

    Another American girl with a crush on a Canadian …cliche, lol!!!

  2. defunkd permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:18 pm

    You have a crush on me? Whoa, blushing. Oh…maybe he meant Neil…

    Is it a fashion faux pas to wear a belt with a suspender t-shirt?

  3. February 18, 2009 10:20 pm

    I was there for the winning of this amazing shirt and let me tell you, Dana is a bidding pro. No nervous sweats or bitten nails. A true professional in her element!

  4. indiansummervintage permalink*
    February 19, 2009 7:19 am

    And isn’t “Wayne Campbell” actually a Canadian? Do I have a problem?

    Oh Amy I meant to thank you profusely in the above for your coaching that evening! 29 Bids later and feeling fine. I should invite you over for the end of all important auctions (are you free every other night?). XOX

  5. February 19, 2009 9:18 am

    I would never tuck in a t-shirt but every rule has its exceptions. This is killer.

  6. March 11, 2009 7:48 pm

    I bid on this!
    Nice to know where it ended up!

  7. MSP permalink
    January 19, 2011 2:58 am

    I know this is a 2 year old blog entry and you may never see this comment, but I have this exact same shirt! My parents have are avid neil young fans and they have a ton of concert shirts from him. I found this little gem 4 years ago while rummaging in the garage for something useless probably. Now everyone wants to know where to get one when I wear it. I’ve never seen it anywhere else with the exception of some old concert footage where neil is wearing it. Rock on!

Leave a Reply

