Skip to content

#45: Good Things Happen

March 3, 2009

They say Good Thing Happen to Good People. Am I a Good Person? Well I might just be!

On Friday morning– unseasonably warm and sunny and glorious before the snowstorm of the season two days later sucked us back into winter — while leaving the house for work (perpetually late) what did I come across strewn over my very street corner amidst a pile of otherwise forgettable books but INDIANS OF YESTERDAY, one of the greatest and my most favorite childrens books ever constructed from papers and threads. And, I mean, this isn’t some commonplace Pokey the Little Puppy, this is a c. 1940 gem that you just don’t find everyday! Certainly not sitting on the sidewalk on the very corner of the very street that you live on. In Brooklyn. Really, how did it happen and where did my good fortune come from?

Funny, too, because the childhood original of my youth sits on the trunk next to my bed up at the country house and has been laying there for years. It’s also totally falling apart at the seams. I’ve been thinking for a while now about how to shyst it out of the house and back to the city having no one in the family be the wiser. Now I’ve got my own copy in mintyish mint condition to display in the boudoir.

Chalk one karma point up for me, I guess.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 9:54 am

    What a street treasure!

  2. Daddy permalink
    March 4, 2009 1:19 pm

    Hooray for Indians of Yesterday
    er excuse me Native Americans
    great fun
    good karma

  3. March 4, 2009 3:00 pm

    Definitely a good girl!

    I found my favorite 1930’s quilt on the street and I still get goosebumps thinking about it. Sometimes the street is a good place to be.

  4. March 5, 2009 10:26 am

    I felt this way when I found the first comic I ever read on eBay. This seems more special though, and definitely a bit more serendipitous.

Leave a Reply

