Skip to content

#49: Matchmaker

March 11, 2009

It usually occurs to me only after I’ve left the house that I’m often dressed head to toe in mens clothing. It just happens! Between the Levi’s and the flannels, and then once you’ve experienced the comfort inherent in a boxy sweater or roomy trousers, you’re a changed woman. Anyway, I’m scrambling to get one last seasonal wear out of all my warm, manly favorites while the New York air still bites. Once spring is here I’ll be a lady again.

Matching sweaters from the 1930’s. I swindled the olive at a vintage clothing show (“…you only take cash? I only have half in cash…” Sold!) and the port wine was quietly procured from a quaint little auction house. Bargain hunting is “in”, no?

I’m big on styles of the 30’s, obviously. Everything was simple, elegant/handsome, versatile, and as if pieced together in the heavens and sent down to Earth to look and fit just right. As if times were so tough that by the laws of survival manufacturers began materializing clothing that was effortless, at once modern but classic and timeless, as if people ought to be prepared to wear the same outfit forever, should they need to.

Bang for your buck! Depression era values! I love this, and maybe we’re all feeling it. And maybe H&M will cut its clothes for humans rather than alien life forms! Maybe Sears will be cool again! Maybe all men everywhere will be wearing fedoras! I want to believe it, but I can only believe it when I see it…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 8:56 pm

    Hell, I dress head to toe in men’s clothing every day except for the summer, too!

    Have you seen Leave Her to Heaven? You will love the Technicolor vision of 1945 clothes, covering the waterfront from dude ranch to Maine backwoods flannel, Bar Harbor lounge wear, and femme fatale threads. She swims and dreams in her lipstick, and puts lipstick on her lipstick. Restored print was being shown at Film Forum, hopefully will replace the junk available in other formats.

  2. indiansummervintage permalink*
    March 12, 2009 9:59 pm

    Top of the queue!

  3. March 18, 2009 12:12 am

    Nice sweaters, search me out one on the bay and I will pay for it and give you a little finders fee…

  4. indiansummervintage permalink*
    March 18, 2009 6:33 am

    You got it DH. Meanwhile, these sweaters are so shrunken. Either it’s just my luck that they fit my femme frame well, or every man really was wearing very high waisted pants backs then. Anyway, eyes peeled. X

  5. March 20, 2009 12:27 am

    nice find on the red one.

Leave a Reply

