Skip to content

#50: if by Shirt

March 12, 2009

Picasso

I need this shirt. Maybe it’s because one of my dear darlings embarked for Paris this very evening and I wish I were with her, or because J. Peterman has just reproduced it for the spring catalog, reminding me that Picasso once said, “Everything you can imagine is real.” Whatever it is, the french sailor shirt embodies everything that I think life ought to be. Sunshine, sailboats, rowboats en route to sailboats, the cobalt blue sea, beach umbrellas with tassles, white bathing suits, naps in palm tree shaded hammocks, a different pair of sunglasses in every breast pocket, Schwinn cruisers, big old convertibles with leather couch seats, barefoot walks on cobblestone streets, overgrown gardens, baskets overflowing with fresh veggies, simple meals in kitchens with stone floors, dinners at 9 o’clock that last until 12, good red wine (which I’ve yet to develop a taste for… how gauche of me!), terracotta tiles, impromptu tangos on the terrace… maybe I should start planning my move to the French Riviera. Or at the very least, my first visit. Or at the very least, learn how to pronounce anything in french correctly.

Picasso2

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 6:42 am

    This shirt chokes me up. My grandpa had both the red and the navy one. Once at Elmwood we showed up both wearing striped shirts and he then explained the stripe width meant mine was a Russian sailors shirt and his was a repro of a Picasso one.

    I’ve been wanting to buy my own in honor of him! That is, if I can ever wear it with out bursting into tears. I’m such a sap.

  2. Daddy permalink
    March 15, 2009 9:26 am

    I know where you can get one…Smith St, ask city the store she took me to w motorbikes..
    love you

  3. benja permalink
    April 17, 2009 11:09 am

    Indeed. Do not ever buy a plaid flannel shirt for what they charge, but I’m sure this place of beautiful, thick sweaters would have a French sailor’s shirt (or Russian because of the striping). http://nymag.com/listings/stores/smith-and-butler/
    I don’t know this blog, having come upon it in my search for a French sailor shirt from J. Peterman (now I’ll just go to Smith Street), but you should go to France toute suite and learn your pronunciation there. Find somewhere in the south where you and your French can go slow and enjoy all of the things you mention above. Aix-en-Provence has language courses and is a train-ride away from the sea. Don’t wait.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      April 17, 2009 2:37 pm

      Thank you for a glorious comment! Smith and Butler is in fact one of my favorite Brooklyn shops. I am wearing a gorgeous pair of Lyell pants purchased from there on this very day. I’m carefully calculated my visit and/or move to the Riviera, don’t you worry about me! Thanks for visiting, XOX

Trackbacks

  1. #121: Two if by Shirt « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

