Skip to content

#52: Make New, Keep Old

March 17, 2009

I suddenly had a vision of me as a 70 year old in 2054 wearing all clothing from the 1930’s and it seemed a little… creepy. Time to pepper in some new!

Actually, while it appears that I might very willingly slip into a girdle and time-warp myself back to yesteryear, I do think it’s incredibly important to mix the old with the NEW. Afterall, if we take all our inspiration from the OLD, whatever will our grandchildren have to look up to? It’s up to us to make this era our own.

That said, I just bought a too-expensive new sweater, which helps to prove my point. My very important point. If I have to take this recession into my own hands, I will, and proceed to buy some first-hand premium goods. I’m a hero, really. (Tongue firmly planted in cheek, where it ought to stay.) Has anyone else noticed that even those of us whose income has stayed the same are spending less?

Add it to the pile:

(Ralph Lauren Blue Label)

Ain’t she a beauty? She’s actually very, very 1930’s Ivy League and why I was so drawn in. Very Hubbel in The Way We Were.

(Sears Catalog, 1934)

Look, I’m not really the spacesuit type. If I buy a new thing, it’s going to look like an old thing, and that’s how it’s going to be.

Meanwhile, as it appears that the rest of New York is making the most of the recession by not buying anything at all, here I am, ISV: saving the world, one Ralph Lauren sweater at a time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daddy permalink
    March 17, 2009 11:54 pm

    very cute

  2. April 16, 2009 9:19 am

    perfect sweater!

Leave a Reply

