Skip to content

#53: Last Chance

March 18, 2009

Saying goodbye to winter and hello to spring, somehow makes me nostalgic for fall. True, I love spring! I love how the weather lends itself to the reimagination of all the items in your closet and the New You for the year ahead. But… I’m just not ready to stop draping myself in gray cashmere. No, not yet. Give me one more day! At least until the vernal equinox?

A word to the wise, the *PERFECT* vintage gray cashmere sweater exists at every rummage sale. From the backwater regions of New Jersey to the local church. Keep your eyes to the sky and your ears to the ground– no, that doesn’t make sense. Just be on the lookout, trust me.

Fall, winter, spring — the perfect little ‘shmere encapsulates all the Sunday bike rides, festive meals, morning chills, weekend trips, strolls along the river… everyone needs one, is all I’m saying. You, too, can have it all.

Somehow, despite all the designer cashmere I’ve been fortunate enough to behold in my lifetime (working high-end retail all through college helped me on that front), my vintage cashmere never pills, never gives me any problems. And the cuts are sublime, perfect. Slim, square. Simple ribbing at the sleeve and lower hems. Perfect little crew necks, 1960’s and earlier. And I’m telling you, this exists at every rummage sale. Gray! Maybe navy! Men! Ladies! Seriously!

Rummage rummage rummage! This ought to resonate with most people right now. Of course a true rummage-teer never gives away her secret rummage locations… {mwa ha ha ::poof!::}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 2:11 pm

    Be careful, dana!

    I once said the word rummage a few too many times and mentioned new jersey in a blog post and got a stern talking to by you know who!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      March 20, 2009 12:58 pm

      I’ll never tell! Lips>zipped.

Leave a Reply

