Skip to content

#55: Not Fade Away

March 23, 2009

Known Fact: The Stones are in my bones. That river runs deep. It’s an identity. I’ve been a Stones fan from birth, like, been pivoting and shaking my finger and doing the chicken like Mick since I could even walk. I drew Mick and Keith into my family portraits in pre-school; seen them 10 or so times in concert (pretty good for my 24 years); can’t listen to any Greatest Hits because I have every album memorized from side A to B and it throws of the equilibrium of my universe.

To the point: the Not Fade Away Gallery in Manhattan is showing an incredible collection of world premiere photographs of the band (and that other famous British rock outfit, the Beatles) through April 14, all photos taken between 1964 and 1966 by Bob Bonis, the first US tour manager for both bands. If you’re a fan in any capacity, it’s a must see. I’m sure I had a goofy ear-to-ear grin on the entire time I was there. The energy derived from seeing “the boys” everywhere from the stage, backstage, riding bikes, pool side, probably gave me enough sustenance to give up food for a little while.

Go: 12 East 20th Street, Second Floor.
Mick!
Mick and Brian
K and C
B and K

PS – Don’t tell my financial advisor (AKA Dad) how seriously tempted I am to buy one of these.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daddy permalink
    March 23, 2009 9:43 am

    great job on the photos
    too bad we cant blow em up

Leave a Reply

