Skip to content

#57: Picture It

March 25, 2009

Picture it: July, 1947. New Hampshire. You’ve left your straw hat, garter belt and platforms behind to hit the open road with the boys. Traded all that for a flight cap, studded leather belt, and steel toe boots. Rev up that engine. Let your pin curls down, feel the wind in your hair. The dirt’s kicking up behind you, your pants have never been so dirty, your face so filthy, and YOU DO NOT CARE… I’m there! No, wait, I’m in a cubicle next to an open window…

toughie

toughies

While scouring the LIFE photo archives for completely unrelated photos, I came across these stunning tough girls in all their tough girl glory. What I wouldn’t give! But I promised an old man once (Dad) that I’d never ride on the back of any man’s hog. Time to get the beach cruiser out of the garage and live a good-girl’s version of the dream…

beerz!

babz

Love this, especially because “Dee” is Mom’s nickname for me. I’ve never received a card that wasn’t addressed “Dear Dee”. Natural to assume, then, that this is me in a past life:
Dee

Cue the music, ride into the sunset.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 9:40 am

    Great photos, I saw them too. The belts are awesome– and help guard against back fatigue and injury while barreling down the open road.

  2. March 26, 2009 1:46 pm

    I hate to think of those poor lonely garter belts left somewhere…

  3. March 28, 2009 1:30 pm

    I also discovered these gals:
    http://bulldogvintage.blogspot.com/2008/12/style-study-motorcycle-girls-of-laconia.html

    the belts are called kidney belts and kept their guts in since there was no suspension.

    how badass is that?

  4. indiansummervintage permalink*
    March 30, 2009 11:51 am

    Seems like there’s nothin’ new under the LIFE Archives sun, ay?

  5. April 18, 2009 12:26 pm

    This post is fantastic! If you’re at all interested in vintage motorcycles, I want to share this with you:
    http://thevintagent.blogspot.com/2009/02/anka-eve-goldmann.html
    Vintagent is not my blog. I found it on a vintage clothing dealer colleague’s blog.

    I’m a new reader here. Your blog is blowing my mind. Thank you.
    Holly

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      April 19, 2009 9:03 am

      Thank you, Holly! Thanks for sharing both your site and that of the vintage bikes. Much appreciated! X

Leave a Reply

