Skip to content

#60: Back! Only to leave again soon…

April 19, 2009

My modus operandi for all weekends first containing that momentous change-of-season air is a roaring I’M OUTTA HERE. (Factually, somehow this weekend I fell totally out of the loop: pals are either exploring the wooded depths of New England, or at a moped rally in Kentucky. When you get left behind, you’ve gotta make your own adventure.)

I have a long list of goals for the warm season ahead, the first being a conquest: to vanquish my fear of the open road, and to hit it. Don’t get me wrong, give me the byways any old day– winding, dusty, dirty country roads– and I’m all over them (figuratively speaking), but the highways are what get me good. Mark my words, by the next equinox I’ll have stories, nay, legends to share about the summer of 2009 and a girl in her Jeep. Right? Right…

Anyway, this weekend was prime time for warming up for the big trip out west (t-minus 6 days and counting). I hit the Hudson Valley hard in my LL Bean hikers.

A little game of contrast and compare: Bear Mountain in 1939 versus Bear Mountain today.
BM

What do you think? How many McMansions can you spot in the distance? There is still so much of the Hudson Valley of the old days to explore, wilderness, secret passages, colonial homes… You could have breakfast in Brooklyn, be up North by lunchtime, and back in the city by supper. Maybe next weekend? Keep the place warm for me while I’m away.

Some scenes from the day:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 9:24 am

    Good for you–hittin’ that open road! I regret that my day job won’t allow for road trippin’ for more than a weekend. (I’m a dog walker, in addition to my other biz.)

    That snake would have given me a coronary and caused me to run back to the car never to return to the woods again. I guess these are the encounters you chance when having an adventure.

    I love your compare on contrast photo. I hope you’ll be able to keep blogging from the great wide open. I’m linking you on my blog right now.

  2. April 19, 2009 11:13 am

    Is that lost shot Constitution Marsh or the bird sanctuary on the west side of the Hudson (I’m forgetting its name). Did you get to Doodletown?

  3. April 20, 2009 10:07 am

    Nuh-uh. You did not see that snake for reals, I do not believe it. You Googled snake!

  4. indiansummervintage permalink*
    April 20, 2009 11:21 am

    In the words of my mom, I’m a real Tough Cookie. Ain’t no little black snake gonna scare me none.

    Thew, yes to Constitution Marsh. Some of the other photos are taken on a trail up Indian Brooke Road. Never been to Doodlestown but intend to in the new few weeks. Thank you for the tip!

  5. April 21, 2009 4:25 pm

    Plenty of snakes in Doodletown, for your doubters. Check out the reservoir and its feeding stream this time of year. Also look for the salamanders.

Leave a Reply

