Skip to content

#67: Tea Time

May 11, 2009

If you’re ever in Boulder City, Nevada, because you might be, I suggest you stop into the Boulder City Antique Mall on the one main road that runs through the town. You won’t be sorry. And if you’re ever in Boulder City, Nevada, let me know and I’ll set you up with my mom for the grand tour. You won’t be sorry.

Despite my “tough girl” exterior–yeah, right–I’ve always wanted my life to be a little bit more like an E.M. Forster novel; I’ve always wanted to be invited to tea and go to garden parties, to play tennis on the lawn, have a laugh over crumpets and furrow my brow at the slightest breeze. Not really—I think I prefer dirty jeans and BBQs. But I have always wanted an Edwardian lawn dress, just for good measure, so to be primed and ready to realize halfhearted daydreams in historically accurate garb. (Minus the requisite bloomers and 7lbs of underwear. Got to admit it’s getting better all the time.)

And so I found this simple beauty just sitting and waiting for me in a small town in Nevada just outside of Las Vegas. 100 years old, in beautiful condition, and a perfect fit. Maybe I’ll throw my own garden party.

Lawn dresses were worn by Edwardian birds to the solarium (I’ll stipulate here that my next Brooklyn flat will have a solarium) or to porch parties and picnics. They were designed to display ladylike charms, and usually worn with a colorful ribbon tied at the waist. The intricacies, paneling, and fine lacework determined societal status– maybe my simple dress belonged to a down home country gal, then, who preferred romps by the pond to strolls beneath a parasol. The lawn dress was a staple in the Edwardian lady’s wardrobe and worn for socializing, very important business back then. For the sake of conversation, let’s liken it to a modern day power pantsuit– but for the sake of our grandchildren here’s hoping the pantsuit legacy doesn’t live on…


sweet cotton linen, 100+ years old. How romantic.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 1:20 am

    What a beautiful dress! The fabric itself is even amazing and it’s unbelievable that’s 100 years old holding such a great condition. True treasure.

    Thank you so much for leaving a lovely comment on our blog. Your blog is very beautiful as well, and thank you for sharing many wonderful things and inspirations with us.

    -N.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 13, 2009 2:38 pm

      Thank you for your sweet words! The love is returned. XOX

  2. May 12, 2009 11:39 am

    Edwardian Birds is my next band’s name. We will be a dirgy brassy punk band with epic French horn solos. We will of course exclusively play solariums (solarii?)

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 13, 2009 2:37 pm

      I approve of these activities, minus the ska.

  3. May 13, 2009 2:34 pm

    Wow!

  4. Pam Pollis permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:52 pm

    My dear, you were simply born in the wrong era. I love reading your blog. You inspire me.

  5. May 30, 2009 12:52 pm

    Great looking summer dress!

Leave a Reply

