Skip to content

#73: To those that wait, good things come

June 11, 2009

Well, something remarkable has happened. Relatively, anyway, in terms of my little hoarding hobby, something really and very truly remarkable that I never thought could happen but has. Being a bit of a spring chicken in my 24 years of age, this is highly unprecedented…

For longer than I have searched for any one single piece of apparel, I have searched for a perfect Chimayó jacket. The task at hand led to desperate, arduous pursuit for one in the right color scheme, in great shape, and most importantly with the right fit. Eons went by, and now it’s here, it’s mine, and it begs me to wonder: now that I have found it (IT!) is the thrill gone? Have I attained the Holy Grail? Have I reached the nexus of my collecting, and so soon?

Chimayó jacket, c. 1930’s.


The details of this jacket are outrageous. The incorporated turquoise in the pattern is so vivid I’d swear it was alive and breathing. The little beaded dancing girl on the zipper is pristine, not to mention precious. The rich brown color is warmer than any warm tone I could conjure in the imagination.


Chimayó weavings emerged around the turn of the 20th century in the town of Chimayó, New Mexico, from the descendents of Spanish colonists. The Ortega and the Trujillo families (who, generations later, still weave using traditional methods today in their shops in Chimayó) were pioneers in this craft, rooted in the Rio Grande weaving patterns of the early Spanish settlers. The central Chimayó motif uses a dramatic and multi-colored serrated diamond in the middle of a field of color. True-blue American cultural masterpieces.



(Charles Ilfield was a powerhouse Jewish merchant in the Southwest during the early part of the 20th century, and so this jacket must have been sold in one of his shops.)

Is this the be-all and end-all? Am I through!? Pshh, who am I kidding.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Pollis permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:55 am

    What a delicious find! I am a lover of all things tabbed-at-the-waist as well!

  2. qst4wldrnss permalink
    June 11, 2009 11:28 am

    Of course you’ll have more “Holy Grails” to pursue. What about a tipi? Now THERE’S a true Native American pursuit.

  3. Sean permalink
    June 11, 2009 2:23 pm

    It’s finding the perfect item that keeps you (us) looking for the next one!

  4. daddy permalink
    June 13, 2009 11:09 am

    WOW!!!!
    what you visualize you can realize and draw to you

  5. June 21, 2009 7:55 pm

    Is that the one that was on ebay? Can you send me copies of the high resolution pics for my archive

    Himel

  6. June 25, 2009 11:15 am

    I could weep tears of joy for you. This jacket is UNBELIEVABLY perfect. Congratulations.

    Now go find more cool stuff!
    Holly

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      June 26, 2009 9:22 am

      Holly, what would I do without your moral support!! X

  7. July 19, 2009 10:59 pm

    Hi –

    I was just researching Chimayo jackets as I am selling my mom’s on etsy, and I think I may have significantly underpriced it!:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=27427648

  8. Andy permalink
    July 26, 2009 12:41 am

    So, did you win it?

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      July 26, 2009 7:17 pm

      Oh my, yes.

Trackbacks

  1. #97: I’ve Got the Blues For You « Indian Summer Vintage
  2. #142: Two for the Show « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

