Skip to content

#84: In bloom

August 10, 2009
I am admittedly smitten with one of the most wretched and historically unflattering items in ladies clothing.  Woe is the modern day romantic!   I wear bloomers.

Three favorites are currently on rotation in the summer wardrobe:

A swimsuit from the late teens to mid-1920’s
I love wearing my blue-blob, thanks very much.

Drawing dated 1916

A gym suit, termed “romper”, late 1930’s to early 1940’s

Shorts were pegged above the knee for gals in the 1930’s for the first time.

Perfect weathered blue
Oh but I think we can admit that bloomers had come a long way by now in showing off those feminine contours.  Gym class in 1905, yikes:
Nice form, ladies!
And in the 1920’s our girls were to wear black tights under their blooms:
Feel the spirit! (I’m looking at you, up front on the far right)
And here, what are they doing?  Sometimes there’s only one thing you can do: strut.
Girls’ sixth period Strut Class
And last,  gym bloomers from the late 1930’s to mid 1940’s
As my sweet Amy Merrick wrote to me recently of the bloomer, “let me tell you, they are poofy in the butt.”  But she and my quorum of darlings (the ladies in the place) will agree that flattering or not, there is little fun in collecting if you can’t live a little piece of the authenticity in your everyday life.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 8:05 pm

    Great gymsuits! I collect them too, but I don’t wear them. ell, I do wear a gym shirt from the 1930s, but not the bloomers. Enjoyed the post.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      August 14, 2009 8:15 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and reading, Lizzie! Can’t blame a girl for trying but if for whatever improbable reason you wish to unload, don’t hesitate to be in touch!

  2. August 17, 2009 10:48 am

    Well, it isn’t likely, as this is for some unknown reason, one of the things that really interests me, but if I do, you will get first refusal!

  3. September 10, 2009 1:02 pm

    ooh the baby blue one is so cute! awesome that you wear bloomers-i find them hard to wear when ya have to go to the bathroom-that’s my only complaint-maybe they should make them like onesies with snap crotches ;oP

Leave a Reply

