Skip to content

#89: Great White Hope

August 26, 2009

Oh my.  I may have found it.  I may have found… the perfect white tee shirt…

Fresh as the day it was shipped off to the dry goods store, my little darling: a never-worn Hanes tee shirt from the late 1940’s or early 1950’s.

The irregular tag is awfully curious as the tee  seems to be quite right.  Irregularities in tee shirts often only refer to minor fluctuations in production.

Our sweet friend at Repeat to Fade has taught me so much about dating tee shirts, for which I am very grateful as I can now sort my tee shirt drawer chronologically (a project I’m saving for a rainy day).

In the 1940’s, tee shirts featured a substantial ribbed neck as shown on my tee shirt.  In the 1950’s, the neck was designed slightly wider, though the body now slimmer and longer than the 1940’s tee shirt.  Seems my tee was probably made on the cusp of a new era for tee shirts.

They said it was impossible!  That it could never happen.  That there was no such thing as the perfect white tee shirt.  And maybe everything they say is true!  But for now, in this moment, I am happy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 1:19 am

    This blog is a treasure! You do this so well & your thoughts are interesting. Thank you for your magic!
    Aino

  2. mccartney permalink
    August 27, 2009 12:41 pm

    where did you find this treasure?

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      August 27, 2009 12:57 pm

      eBay, as ever.

  3. August 27, 2009 2:58 pm

    This truly is the perfect t-shirt. Bravo!

  4. August 31, 2009 11:56 am

    awesome find. new “saved search” starts…. now.

Leave a Reply

