Skip to content

#95: Near Death Experience

September 21, 2009

I nearly died when I saw the Ralph Lauren Spring 2010 runway show.  Never have the creases and folds and inner workings of my brain been so closely represented on such a stage.  That isn’t to say that I’m surprised it came from Ralph, considered my alma mater after working there all through college,  but I certainly wasn’t expecting it.  Bravo!  Big kiss!

(All images from Style.com)

(Dust Bowl worker meets Diane Keaton in Manhattan)

A dazzling affluence of 1930’s inspirations from the men in the mines to the girls on the prairie to the gentleman working up in them tall city buildings.  Fortunately for me, the collection reminds me that I needn’t reallocate my life’s savings to finance the distressed premium denim or sweet floral day dresses.  But maybe I’ll be digging a little deeper in my own closets and trunks, or my own cerebellum, for some inspiration.

Hard-to-come-by women’s denim overalls, c. 1930’s/early 1940’s in the bluest of blue denim.  Not a label in sight.

1930’s denim railroad worker’s jacket, no label.  I picked this up for $20 from  the original owner’s grandaughter.

To me, denim still feels very American.  I wonder if the Ralph show will rehash the horrible trend of mass market prefab distressed euro-looking denim.  But never mind that when one can find inspiration and take comfort in the real thing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 2:33 pm

    we felt THE.SAME.EXACT.WAY.

    how amazing!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      September 23, 2009 5:40 am

      Karen! You were there in person, tell me the story!

      Fleur, thanks for stopping by and sharing your sweets!

  2. September 22, 2009 7:10 am

    Original 30s/40s denim makes my spine tingle!

  3. October 3, 2009 4:42 am

    Love that railroad jacket – the buttons suggest blue bell (Wrangler). Amazing Fade.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      October 3, 2009 6:29 am

      Thanks so much for stopping in and sharing. That would imply that the jacket were from the 40’s, no? I do think it might be a bit earlier than that based on the age of the woman I bought it from and it coming from her grandfather, but I release it to the experts (you!)

      • October 4, 2009 3:53 pm

        Hmm, my Wrangler knowledge isn’t great but I had a similar jacket, a much later version, with the same buttons. Check out item number 220487362094 on ebay, similar details including the red stitching on the pockets. Great that you actually picked it up from a family member of the owner, I’m on the hunt for one that actually fits me, work jackets are rarely girl friendly!

        Great site by the way, still a little envious of your Chimayo find!

      • indiansummervintage permalink*
        October 4, 2009 6:30 pm

        I have been VERY lucky! This find was absolutely kismet, the first chore jacket to work for me.

        Thanks so much for stopping in and taking the time to comment, I love the banter. XOX

      • October 8, 2009 8:16 am

        Key Jacket – WOW!

Leave a Reply

