Skip to content

Be back in 10

October 8, 2009

One of the great things about nature is that, if you’re lucky, it remains largely unchanged through the years.  Over this past weekend I went deep into the county I grew up in (Westchester, NY) and rediscovered why it is so coveted by those that reside there, and why it means so much to me to have come from it.  I’m leaving this evening for a ten days, headed to the Northwest briefly and then down to the Southwest.  I’m excited beyond telling, but I have to tell you, there is a twinge of regret in me knowing that I’ll be missing ten whole days of this remarkable but fleeting season in New York.  While I am away, get out there and enjoy it.

And this time, I’ve actually managed to pack light!  (I think?  I’ve only packed one flannel!  Only three pairs of jeans!  Only two striped tee shirts! Only two white tee shirts!  Pretty good?) There should be plenty of room in that old aviator’s kit bag for vintage finds picked up along the way…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 7:22 am

    Such beautiful photos! I especially like the red barn. Have a great 10 days away!

  2. October 8, 2009 11:17 am

    Beautiful time of year, isn’t it?

  3. October 8, 2009 11:28 am

    we are from ct not far from westchester, so we are all lucky to be so close to home like this!

    enjoy the southwest cant wait to see pics…

  4. October 8, 2009 2:56 pm

    Wow – the photographs are gorgeous. Excellent. Glad I found your blog.

    Your newest fan from far far away – Holli in Ghana

  5. Niles permalink
    October 8, 2009 5:53 pm

    the first photo is so surreal. can’t wait to pick a pumpkin with you!

Leave a Reply

