Skip to content

#110: Same Old

December 15, 2009

Beeear with me, more Native American silver and turquoise.  Perhaps just let it lend extra meaning to my moniker?

Matching Harvey era pins from the 1930’s, Navajo crafted.  One for me, one for my sweet sister.

The symbolism:

Arrow: protection

Thunderbird: Bearer of unlimited happiness

Headdresses on either side of the arrowhead: ceremony, like a ceremonial dance

Shaman’s eye at base of the arrowhead: wisdom

Sun rays on the wings of the thunderbirds: constancy

Turquoise stones: believed to protect the body and spirit, to possess the virtues of health and happiness

While happily entrenched in my Navajo kick, for your sake and mine I’ll shake things up  again soon. (I love a good self-fulfilling prophecy!)  Meanwhile, happy holidays dear darlings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 12:45 am

    Dana, you’re my bearer of unlimited happiness.

  2. December 16, 2009 11:21 am

    beautiful!

  3. December 23, 2009 10:45 am

    that’s a great pic of your Dad!

Trackbacks

  1. #115: First Phase « Indian Summer Vintage

Leave a Reply

