Skip to content

#112: Barn Theory

January 1, 2010

As if you even had to ask! (Not that you did…)

I love barns.  I’ve been positively barncrazy this past week and here I lavish some fruits of my barnlust.  (Another thing I love, apparently, is trespassing on other people’s property…)

This barn has been happily converted into an antique store which was unfortunately closed the morning after Christmas, when these snowy photos were taken.

The brown shingles and yellow siding are so unique.  This small barn rests on a compound with a very large yellow barn, a yellow farm house, and a tall red silo.

The snowies above were all taken in Northern Massachusetts or Southern New Hampshire.  The rest were all shot on my home turf.  My previously mentioned trip to the Northwest has been postponed, so I spent some time in the country this week doing little in the below freezing temperatures but barn hunting and sitting by the fire… And seeing Avatar in 3D with Dad.

Before I was born my dad would ride a horse that was stabled just the next barn over.   The grass was dead, overgrown, crunchy, and creating a pattern of waves throughout the pasture.

Same yellow barn, different view.

Which is your favorite?

Wishing all you darlings a beautiful and Happy New Year.  Sincere thanks to those who read and subscribe, send kind emails and comments, and to fellow site proprietors who have shared ISV with their readers.  You have all made working on ISV in 2009 so much fun.  XOX

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 9:19 pm

    So lovely! Some of these remind me of William Christenberry’s photography. If you’re not familiar with his work, I high recommend it! He photographs a lot of barns in the south and even rebuilds model size ones in detail. Amazing!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      January 4, 2010 12:54 am

      Thanks so much for sharing WC’s work, SJ!

  2. January 2, 2010 1:53 am

    Beautiful.

  3. Sam permalink
    January 2, 2010 10:17 am

    I love the local barns and the photoshoot, great pics!!!

  4. January 2, 2010 12:37 pm

    I love these images… I would move into one of them immediately!! They have such charm and history behind them. too bad we cant transport them to brooklyn…then my life would be perfect. happy new year!

  5. January 2, 2010 4:48 pm

    I love this post. I too have a soft spot for barns. I like it when their windows and doors seemingly make a little surprised face.

  6. January 3, 2010 2:25 pm

    Great post! The red barn is my favourite. I love the shade of deep red and it looks stunning in the snow.
    Thank you for your kind comment on our blog. I always enjoy visiting your blog, too.
    Happy new year, and wish you all the best in 2010!

    -N.

  7. January 4, 2010 10:59 am

    all thriller no filler. awe-some. cant get enough. barn pr0n. “fallen barn” and “yellow barn #2” might be 2 faves. best, 10e.

  8. January 4, 2010 1:48 pm

    Boot envy – what are those beauties you’re sporting?

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      January 4, 2010 4:08 pm

      warning: boots are flimsier than they appear! A random, brandless hunting boot wannabe, probably from the 80s or early 90’s a la Twin Peaks or Northern Exposure. XOX

  9. January 8, 2010 7:57 am

    I absolutely love the first photo – a natural black and white photo with just a red (very nice looking) barn. Great post. Good luck.

  10. noactive permalink
    January 11, 2010 2:46 am

    #112: Barn Theory .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  11. January 11, 2010 5:44 pm

    so cool.. Arizona seems to lack all the cool old barns the East/Midwest has *sigh*

  12. February 18, 2010 6:14 am

    Great ideas for wedding photography too!

Leave a Reply

