Skip to content

#124: Mello Yello

May 2, 2010

If you’re in the neighborhood, there’s a great new vintage shop in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.  Neal Mello opened up his eponymous outpost a few months ago on Grand Street; he’s an alum of Double RL and What Comes Around Goes around so for some of you, ’nuff said.  He has a fantastic selection of casual American vintage with friendly prices and co-runs the shop with Stanley, a lil’ Bulldog puppy with a penchant for ankles.

Website and business cards forthcoming…

I picked up a pair of shorts and a sweatshirt.  Also, Neal seems to have the market cornered on vintage sweatpants, something I haven’t seen anyone else focus on, and they are all beautiful (as beautiful as sweatpants can be), perfectly heather’d and weathered.

Late 1930’s/40’s khaki gym shorts.  Intended for boys, but with an inseam that seems daring 70 years later, maybe better suited for a gal.

Sturdy cotton and nice metal hardware.

B-ball back in the day.


McGregor sweatshirt, made in or around 1976 (RN number calculation from tag) but special in that it has a “V”  detail reminiscent of the 1930’s.  It appears to have not been worn and has an aesthetically appealing proportion,  but what got me good is the visible McGregor branding which I have never seen like this before; McGregor was known mostly for their zip-front jackets in the 40’s and 50’s.  As if I don’t have a drawer full of gray sweatshirts already but I love this purdy addition to the pile.

“V”

USA!

Classic 1940’s McGregor jackets

Big up to Neal for doing what he’s doing.  Happily supporting arbiters of good taste n’ vintage!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 8:19 pm

    cant wait to check it out…those shorts are amazing! i got a pair of boyscout shorts in ebay recently…a little small 😉 yikes. i think i’d go nuts looking at your closet…

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 3, 2010 9:49 pm

      Karen, we should go together!

  2. May 8, 2010 8:27 am

    These shorts are sweet I’m always a sucker for cinch straps, I’m going too keep my eyes out for these on my daily thrift rotation. Thanks for the history lesson!

  3. May 11, 2010 4:56 pm

    i wish there were more short-shorts in sports…i think they look good!

    did you end up wearing these yourself? i see them at a nearby army surplus but hadn’t considered them for myself. good tip!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 11, 2010 4:59 pm

      Hi Emily: everything I write about, I wear! Much more fun. X

  4. May 13, 2010 7:17 am

    Oooh I can’t wait to see you at Renegade! I thought of you a few days ago as I was digging through a HUGE pile of beautiful old T-shirts. Wishing you were there to help me date them!
    xx

Leave a Reply

