Skip to content

#140: Mountaineer

September 21, 2010

It looks like New York is in for a bout of indian summer this week. I’ll be glad to enjoy what feels like the carefree, easy breezy life that comes with wearing threadbare cottons and no jacket, but my mind is beginning to drift toward fall.

I picked up these old mountaineering boots in new condition to wear in Yosemite this November where I’ll be spending Thanksgiving week. The only marking aside from the Vibram sole says Wilderness— possibly an imprint of a better known brand but maybe just a small time, fine lookin’ mountaineering boot. They were made in the 70’s or early 80’s, which I never think of as vintage, but when a pair of boots starts pushing 40 I guess they’re gettin’ up there…

Mountaineering boots have a stiffer shank and heavier weight than regular hiking boots and are built for more difficult terrain, like icey mountains. They’re warmer, too.

We’ll see how they fare in Brooklyn before I take them to the California crag.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:55 pm

    I have the exact same pair that I bought a few years ago at a thrift store. I don’t get to wear them often since I live in a warmer climate but I sure love em!

  2. Amado G. Mercado permalink
    October 18, 2010 6:31 am

    I want a pair of this boots size 11. Tell me what place have this boots for buy it, i love this boots but nobody have a pair for sale, please let me know.THANKS.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      October 29, 2010 7:39 pm

      Hi, I found them on eBay.

Leave a Reply

