Skip to content

#154: Warm Wishes

January 26, 2011

South Florida is beautiful.  And the heat, my god the heat!  For fear that the state of Florida or my dear old Great Aunt Rushi might run me down for saying so, I thought this would be the weekend trip equivalent of napping during a bumpy car ride–mildly refreshing but mostly makes you cranky.  Wrong.

The sun, the architecture, the vibes… I loved Miami!  I wish I had known what a beyond-special and unique city it is so to have spent more time there over the years, but sometimes important facts of life elude us.  My visit could have only been better if a) it wasn’t raining buckets on my one full afternoon in Miami b) I had more time to soak it in and c) Will Smith circa 1997’s Big Willie Style was there to show me around.

With little time alotted for treasure hunting, I focused mostly on the photos, although the rainy day in Miami kept me from capturing the Art Deco insanity that is South Beach.  I hope you enjoy, and if you haven’t been, do plan a quickie weekend trip before your nose runs away with you this winter.

Miami

The view from great heights in Brickell.

This is extra special, as here stood for 40 years my great aunt and uncle’s poultry shop, right smack in the middle of South Beach.

Scenes from Delano Hotel

Art Deco heaven

Seconds later, torrential downpour.  My sister was stuck out by the pool, which only lent greater meaning to her personal slogan for the weekend, “My hair doesn’t like Florida.”

The little details of Palm Beach

Photographic overload aside, if this picture doesn’t sum up Palm Beach, I don’t know what could.

Random beauty found along the way

My sister during our one, brief visit to the beach, and a sunset glimpsed on the drive to the airport.

Stay warm this winter!  And if you can’t, go to Miami.

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammy from Miami permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:15 pm

    BEEEEEEEEEEEUUUUUUUUUUUUTIFULLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!
    Espanola Way Rocks
    Viva South Beach

  2. January 26, 2011 10:39 pm

    what a great post. bravo on making miami look…chic? anyway, it’s great! Karen and I are going down with a few other ladies at the end of february. It really is the perfect quick fix.

  3. January 26, 2011 11:15 pm

    great photos– looks almost like a trip abroad.

  4. January 31, 2011 3:06 am

    you are always on holidays!!

  5. February 1, 2011 7:51 am

    so happy to hear you enjoyed it!!

Leave a Reply

