Skip to content

#155: Virtues

February 14, 2011

I picked up this special ring in my Mom’s little town in Nevada in November.  Wherever you are, you never know what you might find in that little antique shop on Main Street.

The tiny, teardrop shaped turquoise stones indicate that it is a piece made by a member of the Zuni Tribe, likely in the 1930’s.

I think one of the reasons I love vintage is because you can love it unconditionally for its imperfections.  This ring’s mismatched stones and crudely shaped bezels tell the story of strength and endurance.  It has a personality all its own which I can only embrace when I wear it on my finger.

Turquoise is believed by the Native Americans to protect the body and spirit, and possess virtues of health and happiness.  Find the turquoise that you like, and wear it often.

I lost one of my very close friends in a tragic accident just two weeks ago.  It’s been very difficult to find inspiration but I thank those in my life who provide me with so much of it.  Thanks to my magnificent family and friends, and to all those who read ISV and provide such encouragement.  Thanks to everyone who reads this for being you: you are uniquely special and loved.

XOX

Anti-climactic PS – I plan to put this guy on the choppin’ block, I just can’t seem to make use of it day to day.  All reasonable offers will be considered, please email me!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 6:32 am

    The ring looks so special, indeed. I love vintage, too. I like that vintage pieces like this somehow tells a story.

Leave a Reply

