Skip to content

#156: Roomy

February 26, 2011

I like wearing roomy clothes (baggy seems like such a gross term).  I have my fair share of fitted frocks, even bullied myself into buying a pair of ‘jeans’ that are practically leggings which I am having a difficult time forgiving myself for, and so I feel apportioned a certain amount of days during which I can go roomy.  Anyway, my cousin – who only outranks me in age by a mere two and a half months – is ripely turning into a Jewish mother.  We spent last weekend together and she tells me, “you have a nice figure, why do you hide it in roomy clothes?”  I happen to think that roomy clothes, proportioned correctly, really work for girls.

Here are some of my favorite roomy trousers.  From World War II or perhaps Korea, it looks like they’ve seen some action in their day.  Hard as nails but soft to the touch (as we all should be); faded, frayed, and spotted for character.  Beautiful center seam on front and back, maybe an homage to the classic center crease.

Herringbone effect.

Plus,we’ve all got this life to live, why not be comfy while doing it.  Happy hunting.  XOX

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 2:22 pm

    Love em”

  2. February 27, 2011 10:46 pm

    I love these! I have a pair of high waisted 40s slacks in a blue black that I love!

  3. March 1, 2011 11:00 am

    hey, baggy (sorry, roomy) worked for Annie Hall! The world could use a little “baggy.”

  4. March 6, 2011 12:22 pm

    Yes, yes and yes. I am all for comfort…(I actually think it might be an issue.).but I also love frayed, hole-y and soft. Great pants…they will only get better. But, when they finally do see their last days…make a pattern from them!

  5. jiheison permalink
    March 14, 2011 5:23 pm

    I read your post a while back, and it popped back into my mind when i was researching knickerbockers (for some reason).

    If you haven’t all ready stumbled across them, you may be interested in “tobi pants”, which are Japanese workwear (as in what is worn in Japan by construction workers, etc.)

    As you can see in this catalog the pants range from pretty baggy to extremely baggy:

    http://www.toraichi-shop.com/products/list.php?category_id=16
    http://www.toraichi-shop.com/products/list.php?category_id=62

    I think they were based partly on knikerbockers (some of the styles on the above site include “ni-kka” in the name), but they remind me of traditional hakama as well.

    They are worn by women as well. I believe the couple pictured here are husband and wife:

    http://www.tobi.jp/catalog/vol.18/4-5.html

Leave a Reply

