Skip to content

#129: Home Depot

May 27, 2010

My kind of appliance store:

New old chippy shutters?  Why not.

New old chippy window frames?  Pile ’em high n’ deep.

Whatever these are? Power line insulators?  Yup, I’d like some of them, too. (Thanks, Francesca!)

And maybe you can imagine what it looked like inside.  I actually just walked away with a singular vintage photograph that I thought was good looking.  Exercising what one would call “restraint.”  Spotted in or around Millbrook, NY.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 12:40 am

    The little turquoise glass things are insulators for telephone/electric power lines

    When I used to live in Burlington, VT there was this really charming house near an old graveyard that had an entire window filled with them – they had to have had at least 10 little shelves stacked up! It used to be my favorite window to walk by/creep on at night – the light was so pretty!
    …I started a collection but never got around to putting up shelves, instead I have them lazily lining my window sills.
    What were the prices like on them? There’s always such a range, going from $1 – over $30 a piece.

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 27, 2010 6:22 am

      Hi Francesca, I hope you’ll feel inspired to put the shelves up in your new home! I’m not sure what the prices were like on these but will keep a curious eye out on the next run. X

  2. May 27, 2010 7:26 am

    I know this place! Kevin from the bottle shop, what a nice guy.

  3. caroline permalink
    May 27, 2010 9:57 am

    i love all these places you are finding outside of the city! could i ask where they are? i love taking trips out to find places like this!

    • indiansummervintage permalink*
      May 27, 2010 1:52 pm

      Caroline:
      Thanks so much for visiting. These spots are all in or around Millbrook, NY. It’s a nice 90 minute drive or so north of NYC.

  4. June 2, 2010 3:32 am

    Looks like a fun shop filled with treasures!

  5. June 2, 2010 1:16 pm

    so cool! I must take a day trip soon…thanks for sharing- but also keeping a semi- secret. love it!

  6. June 27, 2010 1:23 pm

    Those shutters look fantastic!

  7. August 22, 2010 1:40 pm

    I’m salivating.

Leave a comment