Skip to content

#130: Trespassion

June 14, 2010

What are you passionate about?  Me, I love trespassing old farms, the simple life, country nostalgia; a somewhat displaced nostalgia as I’m apparently lonesome for a time and place I never actually knew.

I found this abandoned farm upstate a few weeks ago.  The main house has long been locked up but is inexplicably furnished.  The grandmother clock still stands in the foyer and all the furniture is crowded about the center of each room (from what I could see from my vantage points).  Treasure everywhere.  Only my good nature kept me from breakin’ in.

I had a deeply intriguing conversation about it with a farmer at the nursery up the road.

Me: What’s with the old farm?

Farmer: Nothin’.

Me: Does anyone own it?

Farmer: Nope.

Me: Is it for sale?

Farmer: Nope.

Some things are perhaps better left for longing.  Displaced nostalgic overload:

(Well, I guess I did break in, but only a little.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 10:11 pm

    that. is. awesome. my kind of post. love upstate and old run down farms.

  2. Noah permalink
    June 15, 2010 10:22 pm

    Love the post! Seems weird that no-one owns it but the grass seems fairly recently cut

  3. June 16, 2010 8:15 am

    Oh My Stars! This is so dang beautiful – I would love to spend a whole summer poking around in abandoned houses. If you get a chance to actually go in please shoot some pix.

  4. June 17, 2010 1:54 pm

    you and a property title search and a visa card and that farm might be yours!

  5. bambijo permalink
    June 18, 2010 9:12 am

    Oh wow! That is beautiful. It’s like my dream farm!

  6. June 30, 2010 7:03 am

    great photos! looks like a perfect day.

  7. Axl permalink
    December 14, 2010 1:17 pm

    Obviously a showplace farm at one time, now fading, wasting, sad…… yet still beautiful.

Leave a comment