Skip to content

#165: Shredability

July 25, 2011

I’ve recently taken up skateboarding (inquiring minds: I ride goofy) and my daydreams are now pretty much limited to imagining how high I might be able to ollie one day and wondering which Vans are the sickest (Classics are, of course).   I’m a summer baby and I wasn’t about to let another birthday come to pass without learning to “shred”, or at least getting myself to a place where I can at least think about being able to “shred” one day.  High shredability, very important!

Loyal Dean makes the most beautiful boards I have ever seen.  Born in California, made in the USA and designed by nature, their thing is “40% reclaimed lumber, organic-where-the-wind-goes-design and a surplus of buttery smooth downhill asphalt rolling
toward the horizon line.”

“We’re master craftsmen, designers and woodworkers for 25 combined years.  So when it comes to working with wood, we know our craft.  We know design.  And we, well, know our wood.  Simply put, the reputation we’ve earned as maestro woodmen is also ideal for creating and crafting premium wooden skateboards.” – Loyal Dean

Check them out and think about saving up for one.  This is what I’m getting for my birthday next year.

Here’s two more skate links, daydreams to the tune of reality:

Skate this house

Pool paint

6 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    July 26, 2011 3:55 pm

    Those are beautiful longboards. They are not the short, hard-wheeled, stakepark boards that you see around. They are for cruising and carving, not necessarily doing tricks. You will love the feel of a nice 48″ board with Randal trucks and some nice big, soft wheels. Enjoy…

  2. July 28, 2011 11:53 am

    wow-these are gorgeous boards!

  3. August 4, 2011 2:53 am

    I have 39 years and I decided to learn to skate, I´m still not able to do an ollie without falling on my ass but it’s a personal challenge that fills me with energy. Very good link I love those tables.

  4. August 4, 2011 2:54 am

    tables… i really mean “boards”! hehe.
    Cheers from Spain.

  5. August 5, 2011 12:05 pm

    BEST POST EVER. I’ve been dying to learn how to skateboard- even asked my boyfriend to teach me (who laughed)…too embarrassed to post a flier…not looking for any cute hipster boys to teach me either. how is it going so far?

Trackbacks

  1. #165: Shredability « My Culture

Leave a comment